Ironman World Championship Review

Aussie Mirinda Carfrae and Frederik Van Lierde win on a record-smashing day

Records were smashed at the 2013 Ironman World Championship in Kona, Hawaii over the weekend. The day belonged to Aussie Miranda Carfae and her historic course record-breaking race (8:52:14). Now a two-time Kona champion, her 2:50:38 marathon was to thank for her record which was the third fastest split on the day including the men. Second and third in the women’s went to British Rachel Joyce and Liz Blatchford.

This year’s women’s race turned out some of the best competitors in its history with the top nine women turning in times faster than last years winner Leanda Cave.

In the men’s, the Aussies had some more success with Luke McKenzie placing second after holding the lead for the majority of the race. At the 17km mark on the run, Belgium’s Frederik Van Lierde rocketed past McKenzie to take the win with a time of 8:12:29. McKenzie came in 3 minutes later, followed by Germany’s Sebastian Kienle. Although McKenzie was strong throughout both the bike and run legs, Van Lierde had easily one of the most consistent races of the day, powering through each leg.

After an exciting race full of breakthroughs, records and career making races, there was still some disappointment for the Aussies. Three-time world champion Craig Alexander and defending Kona champ Pete Jacobs both finished well outside of the top 20, ranking 23rd and 77th overall respectively. Jacobs was reported to be suffering from hip issues on the bike while Alexander was having back problems throughout the race.


1. Frederik Van Lierde (BEL) 8:12:39

2. Luke McKenzie (AUS) 8:15:19

3. Sebastian Kienle (GER) 8:19:24

4. James Cunnama (RSA) 8:21:46

5. Tim O’Donnell (USA) 8:22:25

6. Ivan Rana (ESP) 8:23:43

7. Tyler Butterfield (BER) 8:24:09

8. Bart Aernouts (BEL) 8:25:38

9. Timo Bracht (GER) 8:26:32

10. Faris Al-Sultan (GER) 8:31:13


1. Mirinda Carfrae (AUS) 8:52:14

2. Rachel Joyce (GBR) 8:57:28

3. Liz Blatchford (GBR) 9:03:35

4. Yvonne Van Vlerken (NED) 9:04:34

5. Caroline Steffen (SUI) 9:09:09

6. Caitlin Snow (USA) 9:10:12

7. Meredith Kessler (USA) 9:10:19

8. Michelle Vesterby (DEN) 9:11:13

9. Gina Crawford (NZL) 9:14:17

10. Linsey Corbin (USA) 9:17:22